“Woe is Me”

And he said, I have been very jealous for the Lord God of hosts: because the children of Isreal have forsaken they covenant, thrown down thine alters, and slain thy prophets with the sword; and I, even I only, am left; and they seek my life, to take it away.

-Kings 19:14

This devotional is about how Elijah was weary and being chased.  He stated that he had done so much for the Lord and his situation wasn’t fair.  But the Lord promised that it would be ok and He would handle everything.

Do you ever feel this way?  Like you are doing everything you are supposed to do and still life knocks you down?  It just doesn’t seem fair.  In these moments I need a reminder that it is all God’s plan and timing and that He has already sorted it out.  I can rest in this knowledge.

Father, if I could find a cave, I’d crawl into it.  But I know that’s not where I should be.  I know You have greater things for me than what I see through my tired eyes.  Show me the next step and I’ll take it.

 

Derived from the 3-Minute Devotions for Women

Leave a Reply

