My Miracle Skin and Hair Care Triumvirate

On my quest to find natural skin care and hair care, I found three items that really, REALLY made a difference in helping me in my skin health and hair health.  They have actually worked for me and I could immediately notice the difference – so much so that I call them my little miracle cures.  These items are natural, easy to find, and relatively inexpensive, depending on where you get them from.

As I have gotten older and have consistently used moisturize,r my skin has changed from combination to normal, but I still was having some problems with breaking out, redness and dullness.  These items have improved my skin SO much.  So here we go.

  1. Apple Cider Vinegar

11870644_10207222918588520_5557266126223413969_n

You can get this pretty much anywhere for a few bucks.  Apple Cider Vinegar is known for having many vitamins, minerals, antioxidants and amino acids.  It has many internal health benefits when used in cooking, such as, weight loss, lowering blood sugar, heart health, relieving cold symptoms, aiding digestion and acid reflux, oral health, and energy.  I also use it to wash all of my fruits and vegetables – they keep longer.  It can also be used as a natural cleaner around the house and a deodorizer.  Finally, it is an anti-bacterial.  All good stuff, but I have been mainly using it as a facial toner and as a hair rinse in the shower.

As a toner, I just put some on a cotton ball and then rub the cotton ball on my face.  I do this about once a week (the rest of the week I use Witch Hazel).  You can dilute it with a little bit of water, especially if you have sensitive skin, but I do have very sensitive skin and I have not had a problem with not diluting it.  You will have to see what works best for you.  I do not really worry about the smell because after I tone I put great smelling, natural moisturizer and/or day cream on.

The Effect: bright, clean, fresh, clear skin.

For my hair, I wash and rinse it like normal, then pour a cup of apple cider vinegar over my hair and let it sit for a few minutes, then rinse it out.  You can always dilute the vinegar or use a little bit of your conditioner afterward so your hair doesn’t smell when it dries.  Or you can put a little dry shampoo in when your hair is dry, but I found that with just pouring it on and rinsing it, I could barely smell it, my boyfriend could only smell it a little and no one else could.

The Effect: smooth, shiny, soft, flowing hair that lays beautifully with no styling.  It helps with mending and preventing split ends as well.  Apple cider vinegar is also know for stimulating hair growth, so if you are trying to grow out your hair, this will help.


2) Vitamin E Oil

11836756_10207222909428291_44173871820364338_n

This item can also be found at almost any store, I got this one for about $4 and you only need to use a little bit so this small bottle will last.

Vitamin E oil has antioxidants in it and is known for being anti-aging.  It helps with wrinkles, stretch marks and sunburn.  It can be used for cuticle care, moisturizer, make up remover, eyelash serum and as a skin brightener.  It has healing properties to help get rid of scars and spots. Vitamin E oil is also a great de-tangler.

I use this as body oil or message oil.  I also use a little bit on my face as a moisturizer at night.

The Effect: spots, scars, and imperfections in the skin have started to fade away.  The skin on my face is bright and supple, redness is gone and acne has cleared up.

For my hair, I mix a few drops into my shampoo and wash and condition like normal.

The Effect: super soft, manageable hair.  The vitamin E strengthens the hair and helps it to grow.


3) Coconut Oil

11873454_10207222915188435_7883644774637785714_n

Again, pretty easy to find at your grocery store.  This one is a little more expensive at about $12, but it last forever and it is definitely worth it.  You may also find it cheaper at different locations.  Coconut oil is a liquid in the warmer months (at least for me because I don’t use air conditioning) and becomes a solid in the colder months.  Either way it is totally usable (the solid coconut oil will just melt on your skin) and you only need the tiniest bit.

Coconut oil has many health benefits: helps manage hunger, improve cholesterol, helps with weight management, helps the immune system, helps metabolism and digestion, improves brain function, helps with stress relief, can give an energy boost and it can be used as sunscreen.  I cook with coconut oil more than any other oil for these health benefits.  It is also an anti-bacterial and can be used as a moisturizer, hair treatment, massage oil, eyelash serum and deodorant.  I have a recipe for coconut oil deodorant that I am going to try soon so I will let you know how that goes.

I use this as body oil, as a facial moisturizer, and as eyelash serum.  Just take a tiny bit and rub it all in.  I alternate between using the coconut oil and the vitamin e oil, but sometimes I mix them because I really want the anti-bacterial effects of the coconut oil and the brightening effects of the vitamin e oil.

The Effect: supple moisturized skin, acne disappears.

I tend to use already made products with coconut oil in them for my hair because pure coconut oil in the hair can be difficult to get out; however, once in awhile I will message the oil into my scalp and put a tiny bit down the length of my hair, focusing on the ends.  You can leave it on for however long you want and still see results, but the longer the better.  It is extremely nourishing for your scalp and hair.  Just make sure you wash it out extremely well.  If not, your hair will appear greasy and heavy.  One time I didn’t wash it out well enough and I went outside during the winter.  My hair instantly froze up as the coconut oil left in my hair hardened in the cold. 😛  There are also tons of recipes on pinterest and the like for hair treatments involving coconut oil.

The Effect: extremely soft and nourished hair and the effect lasts a long time, mends split ends, aids hair growth.


As with anything, moderation is key.  I have read that vitamin e oil can be heavy and if you are prone to breakouts it may make you break out more.  I am, in fact, prone to break outs and it has actually cleared up my acne; however, everyone’s skin is different so you may need to use trial and error to see what works best for your skin.

I chose these three items to share with you because they actually make a difference on your skin and hair.  To me, they are that miracle fix that I was looking for, but thought didn’t exist.  🙂  They are a regular part of my skin care and hair care regimen, it is a natural solution, and it didn’t cost me an arm and a leg.  I hope this can help in your regimen and let me know your results.  🙂

Leave a Reply

