I love animals.

We went to Warped Tour on Thursday (post on the way), and there was an organization there called Action For Animals.  Now, I have always felt conflicted about eating animals, but obviously never enough to stop eating meat.  However, the information I read in the brochures I received was terrifying!  I couldn’t even get through it.  I’m sitting here crying at Warped Tour; I had to stop reading.

The brochures talked about how we shouldn’t view animals as mere products; they are smart – have feelings and personalities.  I mean anyone who goes to their local fair can see that.  One time I was petting a goat and I look over and there is this sheep just staring me down.  So I went over and he was so happy to be pet and kept giving me kisses on my nose.  Adorable.  How is that sheep any different from my dog?  Some countries eat dog, but most people would never think of it because they don’t view a dog type animal the same as a sheep type animal when its really all the same.  They talked about “rape racks” where cows are constantly impregnated so they will produce milk.  Then the babies are taken away and the “mother cows often cry for days.”  On veal farms the babies are slaughtered as early as 12 weeks old.

Many animals like pigs or chickens are put in areas that they cannot move in.  They never move!  They never see day light, they never even touch the earth.  The animals are so worn out from the abuse that they become “useless” very quickly and are killed.  Chickens are thrown into grinders – ALIVE.  Some are suffocated in plastic bags.  Cows live for about 20 years.  On farms, they only live four to six year before they are killed.  “Some are so sick they cannot even walk.”

Not only is it inhumane to treat animals this way, but it seems to defeat the purpose.  I mean do you really want milk from a cow that is that sick.  Oh, it’s ok they just will flush it with chemical after chemical – that’s healthy.

There is so much abuse.  Cows are face branded and dehorned.  Pigs’ teeth are grinded down or pulled out.  Chickens’ beaks are sliced off.  All of this done while they are awake and with no anesthetic.

The animals cannot nurture their young and cannot live in the way they were meant to.

Some other random facts:

“Number of turkeys slaughtered every year for holiday dinners – 65,000,000”

“Percentage of U.S. farmed animals raised in intensive confinement – 90%”

“Percentage of U.S. farmed birds raised in intensive confinement – over 95%”

“Wingspan of an average chicken: 26 inches”

“Average space given each chicken in an egg factory: 6 by 6 inches”

“We have discovered chickens literally grown fast to their cages…the flesh of their toes grew completely around the wire.” – Poultry Tribune.


After reading all this, we decided to become vegetarian – on our way to vegan.  It is something that is going to happen gradually – changing your eating habits is a big transition.  I know that not all farms are run this way, but this is America – most of them are.

I also heard about some interesting ideas about whether we are even supposed to be eating meat.  We have the teeth for it, but not the digestive system.  And I am not sure if  God put animals on this Earth for us to eat or not.  I just don’t know.  I am definitely going to be doing some more research on the subject during this process.  I’ll let you know what I find.  🙂


All of my information was from Action For Animals brochures.

afa-online.org

10 Comments Add yours

  1. veganneeds says:

    It is really disgusting how animals are treated 😦 thank you for posting this… just started following you, I have a vegan recipe/lifestyle & Cruelty-free beauty Blog as well, http://www.veganneeds.com
    so glad I found your blog & Happy to connect with you 🙂

    1. Tinny Time says:

      Thanks for following. I will definitely be following you as well. 🙂

      1. veganneeds says:

        thank you 🙂 looking forward to your future blogs

      2. Tinny Time says:

        Same to you! I am very random…just a forewarning. hahahaha 😀

      3. veganneeds says:

        hahaha!! even more reason to follow!

  2. I went vegan a few weeks after realizing veganism was a thing. Prior to that I lived in a hunting/fishing household. I’m an animal lover so of course I can’t be a part of such exploitation and oppression. If you’re interested in learning about the environmental impacts of animal agriculture, I highly recommend watching Cowspiracy: The Sustainability Secret. 🙂 best wishes!

    1. Tinny Time says:

      Oh, great! Thanks! 🙂

  3. I’m a huge animal lover as well. I’m torn on so many things. But we as people are better than this. I hope.

    1. Tinny Time says:

      I hope so, too. 🙂

Leave a Reply

