Boston Lettuce Fried Rice Wraps with Peanut Sauce

11037109_10206835806550961_1633307279628286748_n

So I was trying to figure out what to make with the stuff I had in the kitchen – kind of running low and need to use some stuff up before our four day trip to Indianapolis for a horror convention and Coheed and Cambria – so this was the random concoction we had for dinner.

I cut up some yellow onion, baby bell mushrooms, and some jalapenos left over from some Rockne’s Nachos.  Yes, this was really a use whatever you have left in the fridge meal.  I also found half a bag of frozen peas and carrots.  So I sautéed the vegetables up in some coconut oil and butter and seasoned it with a little garlic salt, pepper, ginger, and paprika.  Added two eggs because that was all I had left.   I had previously cooked some white rice – I was so sure I had soy sauce, but I didn’t so I drizzled the teeniest bit of balsamic vinegar into it and added it to the vegetables.

I had a simple recipe for the peanut sauce, but did not have all the ingredients so I had to improvise again.  I was supposed to use about 13 oz. of coconut milk, but all I had were 8 oz. of whole milk so that is what I used.  Two tablespoons vinegar.  Half a teaspoon of salt.  3/4 cup sugar.  3/4 cup peanut butter.  And I didn’t have any thai curry paste so that was it.  Simmered that for a bit and added a tiny bit of flour – I like thick sauce.

I then scooped the rice into boston lettuce leaves, drizzled it with the peanut sauce and wrapped it up.  It was surprisingly really good!  And I loved the peanut sauce despite the lack of ingredients.

I am going to have a lot of peanut sauce left so I am thinking of adding some cayenne to it and tossing it with some noodles.  Mmmm.  Well now that I am hungry, time to eat some leftovers!  🙂

Leave a Reply

