Do You Believe In Ghosts?

I find ghosts or ghostly incidents very tricky.  I’ve had enough odd experiences to make me think: Ghost have just got to be real!  Then again, it always seems like it could just be your imagination or it just fades away.  Here are some encounters I have had or a family member has had:

Growing up I was always getting freaked out by ghost-like encounters.  One time, the TV remote was in a different spot from where I left it.  My mom and I were the only ones home and she was sleeping due to working the night shift.  Speaking of which, my mom has seen ghosts in the hospital she works at and has heard her name called as well.  In the previous hospital she was employed at there was a floor that they would not go to alone – there were lots of sounds and boxes and equipment moving around by itself up there.  Children laughing is another sound she has heard at the hospital.  Anyway, back at home, my mom and I have both experienced someone sitting on the bed in the middle of the night.  I would feel the bed go down next to me.  I would think it was one of the cats, but that doesn’t really make sense because they couldn’t make the bed drop down that much.  Despite that, I would look for the cat anyway and discover nothing there.  Strangely enough, this event, which happened often, never scared me.  I would always find it somewhat comforting and would just go back to sleep.  There were some strange noises, but I suppose those could be chalked up to the house creaking.  Once I heard laughing while I was on the computer and I had to resist the urge to laugh as well – supposedly ghosts can impose their emotions on you.  When I was younger, I heard walking down the stairs.  Once again – not the cats.  They were heavy footsteps.  I was home alone at the time and it freaked me out enough that I stayed in the sunroom until my parents got home.  My brother and I both hated going up the basement steps – it always felt like someone was at the bottom watching us go up.  Another phenomenon that occurred frequently in this house took place when I was sitting in the living room chair.  You know that feeling you get when you just know someone is behind you, and way too close?  I would get that feeling a lot while sitting in that chair.  Some of the time I would turn around and it was the cat and I’d get a tickly face-full of whiskers.  A lot of times there was no one there.  My parents still live in this house and my dad hasn’t and doesn’t ever really notice much.  My mom still gets the person sitting on the bed and sometimes it sounds like someone is walking upstairs.  My brother still gets that funny feeling when he walks up the basement stairs when we go over there to visit.  Also, my brother’s son, who is two and half has always stared over the back of the living room chair as if someone was standing there.

Well, then I moved into an apartment for a short time.  Not too much happened there, although, I wasn’t there for very long.  One time I saw a person standing next to the bed – male with long dark hair.  I thought maybe I was imagining it or maybe the person I was with at the time had come into the bedroom, but he was on the couch the whole night.  There was also a very strange sound once.  It was very loud and very ominous – I could not even describe to you what it sounded like.  Maybe like a demonic growl, but I feel like that doesn’t even accurately describe it – it was that strange.  I tried and tried to come up with a rational explanation, but couldn’t.  It scared me so bad that I started balling and ran out of the apartment – that was probably the most I have ever been scared of a ghostly event in my life.

I went to the House of Wills in Cleveland, Ohio with a paranormal group.  It was somewhat uneventful, but we did catch some red orbs on the camera and I did find it difficult to breathe when walking in.  Yes, it could all be coincidental.  I also go to the Ohio Reformatory every year in Mansfield, Ohio.  They turn sections of it into a haunted house around Halloween.  They do a good job and its always fun.  Every time I go though, I get dizzy or my vision gets blurry.  I have not had this issue at any other haunted houses.

My brother claims to have been chased out of State Road Woods by “something” one night. These woods are supposedly haunted.  He also had an interesting encounter at a friend’s house.  They were having a little get together for Halloween and the host’s friend had recently passed away.  The host felt him there and my niece could see him.  Then my brother started saying weird things, but they were relevant to the deceased person.  My brother doesn’t remember this happening – my sister-in-law was the one who told the story.

After my short stay in the apartment, I moved to a house.  We immediately noticed that we had a ghost kitty.  Toys were moving on their own and my one cat would chase it around, but in a timid way, like who is this strange cat?  I would hear some sounds during the night, but never thought much of it.  I had a dream once that a demon was hiding in the cracks of the walls.  He had the shape of a man, but he looked like black, drying lava with the hot orange liquid still visible through the cracks.  This was all he was, other than the shape of a man he had no actual features.  He was just peering out at me through the cracks, laughing at me.  I told someone who was supposedly psychic about the dream and he freaked out.  I am 99.9% positive he was full of it, though.  I never had the dream again.  Also, one morning, I was laying in bed, and the guy I was with at the time was outside mowing the lawn.  I heard a voice that said, I don’t like the keeper of the lawn/garden.  Those last two words came interchangeably.  We continued to have a short exchange of words, but I can’t remember them.

Apparently, I did not like the keeper of the lawn either – we got divorced, and I moved into my own apartment.  I found someone amazing that I do in fact like and he eventually moved in with me.  We were really having trouble sleeping in the bedroom.  There were a lot of strange noises that didn’t make sense, even for an apartment.  We were having bad dreams and just could not sleep.  One time, my boyfriend felt warm breathing on his back.  The rest of the apartment was fine and we had no problem sleeping in the living room.  I talked about getting some help with the situation and things calmed down.  Eventually, it started flaring up again.  I found it interesting that we were having trouble sleeping in the bedroom at night, but when my boyfriend would go to work in the morning and I would go back to bed I would sleep just fine.  Maybe the entity didn’t like Jake.  Oh wait!  There’s a connection!  The entity at the house didn’t like the “keeper of the lawn.”  Maybe this is something attached to me that doesn’t want anyone else around.  Well, I talked to someone about possibly coming to the apartment to check it out and ever since then there hasn’t been any issues.

So is all of this a figment of my imagination?  A lot of it happens when I am waking up.  What about other people’s experiences?  Are we all crazy?

Or, are there just way too many “coincidences” here?  Maybe when you are coming in and out of sleep you are more attune to that dimension.  Maybe we aren’t all nuts?

Honestly, I am not sure.  Although, I tend to lean more toward the ghosts are real point of view.  I’ve just had way too much happen.

My boyfriend and I are thinking of visiting some of the haunted places in Ohio, taking pictures, see if anything happens, and then I shall incorporate those into my blog as well.

What do you think?  What sort of experiences have you had?

4 Comments Add yours

  1. OMG the Halloween story really creeped me out. I love it though! I used to be scared of supernatural things like this, but after a few different types of encounters, I’m not anymore. I loved your post and great blog! I can’t wait to see more : )
    By the way, my husband and I would so go with you if we were closer.

    1. Tinny Time says:

      Hahaha I know, right! Creeeeepy stuff sometimes. What sort of encounters have you had?

      Thanks so much! I have started following you as well. 🙂

      Well you never know where life will take you. 😀

      1. LOL! They’re long stories. I actually just wrote one of them on a post. I’ll send you the link if you want to check it out. But yeah, we should swap stories. I love this stuff.
        http://husbandandhusband.net/2015/05/27/a-real-life-scary-story/

      2. Tinny Time says:

        Awesome, thanks!

Leave a Reply

